Anxiety: a True Story

Perhaps you were waiting for me to finish my horror movie lists, perhaps you were not. Either way, I’ve been neglecting writing altogether. That’s because I’ve been neglecting my health, and it caught up to me.

Allow me to vent for a moment. I’ve had anxiety for as long as I can remember. I was first diagnosed with general anxiety disorder at age 22, and it has waxed and waned throughout my life. It always peaks around the holidays. That’s because I run the risk of running into my attackers from childhood, so I generally stay out of town or just hide out this time of year. Works wonders.

This time around, though, I’ve been having nightly panic attacks, chest pains, eyelid twitching and general pain. The problem with me and physical symptoms is that I often ignore them. Not good, I know. So, I am taking time off of work, scheduling doctor’s appointments, and doing other things to lessen my anxiety.

The only thing I can tell you is that if you suffer from anxiety, you’re not alone. Make sure to eat well and exercise (that’s one of the best things for me, honestly, and my gym is only a mile away!), and most importantly, surround yourself with good people. I’m fortunate to have a wonderful, understanding partner and the family I do keep around is very loving.

Anyway, I’ll be writing the horror movie posts soon–any time is a good time to watch horror flicks, not just Halloween. 😉

Stay spooky and healthy.

xoxo

Leave a Reply

