Clare de Lune’s Fave Horror Films, Part 1

Just in time for Halloween! I’ll be sharing some film gems over the next few days, so if you haven’t seen any of these, give them a view and let me know what you think. I *love* talking horror, so don’t be shy.

I’ll have a few more lists coming up: favorite gory movies, favorite B movies, favorite classic horror, and hopefully a lot more.

Now, I don’t want any of you to get all butt hurt and say things like “but that was so cheeeeesy” or “but that was so baaaaad”–I know, okay? This is just a matter of opinion. There are *so* many horror movies I love, but these hold a special place in my (dark) heart. Here they are, in no particular order:

Phantasm

phantasm

A very tall undertaker turns dead people into wild dwarf zombies so they can turn things EVIL.

This movie has a cool hearse and a ’71 Barracuda. What more do you want? Flying driller balls and tiny demonic humanoids? Okay.

I’ve seen this movie countless times and it never ceases to weird me out. It has many redeeming atmospheric qualities and the concept is interesting.

Hellraiser

hellraiser

Frank is resurrected by the Cenobites from an alternate dimension you probably don’t want to visit, and the only thing that will make him whole again is more BLOOD!

I know it is cliche, but this movie still gives me the chills every time I watch it. I know it’s not one of Barker’s faves, but the story behind is it so good. Speaking of stories, you should definitely check out The Hellbound Heart, which is the basis for Hellraiser.

Candyman

candyman

A graduate student investigates the urban legend of Candyman, but struggles to maintain her sanity. Quit looking in the mirror and saying his name, Helen. Damn you!

I just have a thing for Clive Barker, okay? The part that freaked me out the most was when the main character wakes up in the bathroom drenched in blood, and there is screaming in the background. How horrifying to think you’ve committed a crime you didn’t commit!

Basketcase

220px-basketcaseposter

It’s hard to come up with a tag line that doesn’t spoil the film…Kevin has an interesting secret in this basket he carries around, and it’s not laundry.

I think this ranks high up there in my all-time faves, just because the concept is so bizarre. You think you have siblings with problems? Think again.

The Brood

215px-thebrood

I admit that I had not seen this film until about 10 years ago, when my father found it in the dollar bin at Wal-Mart and mailed it to me (along with The Howling 2, another guilty pleasure) as a Christmas present. And what a joyous Christmas that turned out to be.

Apparently, soon after she found out she was pregnant with me, my mother dragged my father to the theater when this gem was originally released, and he said he had nightmares about me becoming some hellion child.

Look what happened, dad.

***

What, you think I’m done? I have a lot more faves coming, so stay tuned. And Happy Halloween season!

Leave a Reply

